The Rabbit Hole

My mind wanders at night… As I’m sure most people’s do. Some nights, however, are particularly meandering.

Most days, I plan on getting my house clean, taking my dog for a walk, doing laundry, balancing the checkbook, grocery shopping, working from home, etc. I have a bad habit of getting distracted. I’ll begin doing one thing that reminds me of something else I needed to check on, which prompts me to follow up on something else, and then I see something else that my curiosity just won’t let me walk away from…you get the idea. Before I know it, I end up with 23 tabs open in my browser, a pile of laundry half done, a hyper puppy on a chewing frenzy, no makeup on for the day, the clock saying that I have 3 minutes to make dinner, and I realize that I’ve been sitting on the couch for the last few hours! It’s sad, but let’s get real, it happens.

The internet is a dangerous distraction, especially when combined with my meandering thoughts. It then turns into an epic rabbit hole. Writing this post has been a rare moment of focus and clarity.

…And I guess that’s the point of this blog. To find those moments of focus and clarity, but also to hold me accountable to the things I really want and need to do in life…instead of sitting on the couch for hours on end sinking deeper into the rabbit hole. I feel that if I put it out there for anyone to stumble upon during their own trips down the rabbit hole, hopefully, I’ll have more motivation to get stuff done during the day because I will have to have something to show for my blog – uh, I mean, day. *wink

I also want to be a more positive person. I’ve found through the years, when I’ve looked through old journals, that I tend to only write my thoughts down when I need to rant or vent about something. Don’t get me wrong, ranting and venting are much needed for everyone, but when that’s all you have to show for a year (or a few), then it paints a bitter picture of your life. I don’t want to look back and only see frustration spilled out all over the place anymore. Now, I must add, that while this is my goal, I cannot promise that there may not be a little spat of frustration in this blog from time to time, but I don’t plan on making it a frequent topic.

I’m turning 30 this year. I still don’t know quite what to think, other than to try to be positive… I get conflicted with my perfectionist personal standards and wishes for myself, along with the stereotypical social assumptions of where people should be in their lives at 30. In light of pursuing positivity, getting stuff done, and turning 30 all this year, I made a list: 30 things to do in the year I turn 30, or “30 for 30” for short. Most of these are things that I’ve always wanted to do, have needed to finally get done, or will just help me reach my personal goals. Plus, it’s already helped begin to adjust my discomfort in turning 30. I’m beginning to see it more as an exciting challenge to conquer in the next year.

So, here’s to turning 30, finding moments of clarity, and pursuing positivity! Wish me luck! Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I’ll turn in for the night. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Rabbit Hole

  1. This is totally relatable for me. I start every day with the best intentions to conquer the world and accomplish amazing things, only to be derailed by the internet and Investigation Discovery on TV. It happens to the best of us! Karen 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

