Status

Monthly Recap – January

As a way to keep track of my 30 for 30 list and other highlights that happen each month, I’m going to have a monthly recap. I got further inspiration and motivation to recap each month from reading my friend Amanda’s blog, The Lady Okie, and her Project 12 posts. By the way, if you haven’t visited her blog, you should check it out!

It’s crazy to me that we’re already in February! January just flew by, but it was jam packed:

30 for 30 Progress: So far, there’s only one item crossed off my 30 for 30 List (#7 – I started this blog!), but I have several other items in the works…
#2 – Read 30 books: I read through two books and noted them below under “Books Read.”
#15 – Sketch something everyday: I made 31 sketches in January! You can see them on my Instagram. Feel free to follow me to see more daily sketches.
#17 – Have a daily quiet time: This was a big one for me. I have struggled through the years to be consistent with reading the Bible everyday, but in January I purposed to just read everyday from January 1-21. After 21 days, it got a lot easier and now, I can confidently say that it’s a habit now.
#3 – Make home office functional: This one has been on my to-do list for the last 5+ years. Sad, I know. But when you move out of your parent’s house as a single girl, you get/inherit “stuff” that doesn’t have a home. Then you get married and you and your husband get more “stuff.” And where does all the stuff go? To the spare bedroom that you had full intentions of using as a home office, but has sadly become the storage room that is, in a sense, The Forbidden Room in the house. This year I had had enough and because I needed to be able to find all of our paperwork for tax season, I decided to tackle this task this month. I had wanted to get the office completely done before the month’s end, but reality kicked in and so it’s still a work in progress. But there is major progress! Besides being able to walk in there (I have a floor in here?!), all of our paperwork is sorted into categories and I’m trying to devote at least an hour a day to filing, organizing, and just getting it to where we can actually use the room as an office and no longer The Forbidden Room.

Books Read: I was able to read through two books during January (yay!). One was excellent and the other was meh… I wrote a review for Emotional Survival for Law Enforcement on my Pepper’s Bookshelf post. It was so good and helpful, I highly recommend it!
I usually enjoy Beth Harbison books as just “fun reading,” but Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger was underwhelming, pretty predictable, and not that great in my opinion (I should have known with the cheesy title). She’s written other books that I enjoy more, so not all of her books are bad. It’s just that this one was not my cup of tea…
You can see all the books I plan on reading this year on my Goodreads page.

Fitness: I intentionally did not focus on fitness during January. I knew that I was planning on starting my fitness goals during February, plus January was full enough with starting other new habits.

Travel: No travel this month…

Watched: Since Friends was released on Netflix in January, my husband and I got hooked watched it. See more in my January Favorites post.
We’ve also been watching the latest season of American Idol on Hulu. We love watching all the audition episodes, but I have to say that the judges this season are more enjoyable to watch than past seasons. So, I’m interested to see how the rest of the competition pans out!

Listened: I know I’ve mentioned my love of podcasts in two of my previous posts, but I just can’t get enough! I’m hooked on Invisibilia, Sawbones, Stuff You Missed in History Class, Stuff Mom Never Told You, and whenever Serial comes back, I’ll listen to that too!
But in addition to podcasts, I’ve gotten back into listening to more music. I kind of went through a little non-music phase for a little while, but I’m back to my car jammin’ and shower singing… My iPhone has been playing Taylor Swift’s 1989 album, Ed Sheernan’s Thinking Out Loud, and The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Soundtrack song The Hanging Tree all month long!

Family Moments: Pepper has been itching to get outside more often, but with the roller coaster weather we had in January, we’ve had to find other ways to play with her in the house. She loves to chase a ball around, play tug, and for whatever reason, she despises pillows being on the couch and will push them off onto the floor with her nose…  When it rains, she goes straight for the “muddies” as we call them. We’re looking forward to spring weather!
My hubby started back to school after the holidays and is taking nine hours worth of classes this semester. Between his ten hour shifts at work, odd sleeping schedule and days off, he’s still willing to get up and go to class twice a week. I am so proud of all the hard work he’s doing and that he’s persevering to finish his degree!
I’ve been blessed to work with my mom as she’s launched her business! We’ve had so many great meetings and have been able to see her vision turn into reality over the past 3 months. Not only have we made progress with her business growth, it has been a blessing to be able to visit, share, encourage, and listen to each other as friends. She’s my mentor and I’m so thankful to have her as a friend and a mom in this stage of my life. I’m looking forward to seeing what God does with her business and our relationship this year!

This Made My Day: During January, I was aggressive about using coupons and rebates, and it paid off! We’ve been able to save money toward things we want or know we’ll need and I try to shop only when I have a coupon or a rebate to use. It’s more work preparing to go to the store, but it’s also nice to have a plan and know that I’m not going to empty my wallet too quickly. The most thrifty day of January was when I saved over $130 in one day by using coupons and rebates while shopping and then talking to our internet provider and getting our bill lowered. It sounds strange and is kind of a long story, but it felt really good to be so productive and save so much in one day.

Monthly Moral: Overall, January was intentional for me. I found myself being motivated, productive, and having a more positive attitude by being intentional with my time. Since coming home full time, I’d say time management has been my biggest challenge, but I’ve been trying to be more mindful of what I spend my time on and I think I’ve been improving. It’s been great to start a new year with such momentum and I plan on keeping it up. 🙂

How was your January?

4 thoughts on “Monthly Recap – January

  1. Awesome job on using those coupons! I am really bad about that. It just always feels like too much effort. Great job on your books too 🙂 Sounds like you did a lot in January. I hope February is going well for you so far!

    Like

Leave a Reply

