Pepper’s Makeup Bag | All About Those Brows

I decided to start a new series featuring beauty products that I use, products I’ve tried, products I love, and drugstore substitutes I’ve found for high end products. Please keep in mind that these posts are just my opinion, and know that I typically try products that I’ve heard good things about from beauty bloggers, vloggers, and people I know in real life. I am not sponsored to post these reviews. I am not a beauty guru, nor do I have any professional background in cosmetics, I just love makeup!

This week raises a few eyebrows, since we’re talking brow gels and brow pencils. Brow gels have caught my eye in the past year or so and have made a huge difference in my makeup routine. Until the beginning of last year, I had never really done anything to my brows and usually just ran a brow comb through them. I started hearing some of my favorite beauty bloggers talk about brow products and doing brow tutorials and began seeing the benefit of what finishing out your brows can do for your overall look. Brows frame your eyes, give more definition to your face, and help polish your look. I honestly can’t do even my most simple and quick routine now without doing something to my brows.

I’ve been using my favorites for the past year: 150227-BrowPost-BrowWhiz150227-BrowPost-GimmeBrowthe Anastasia Beverly Hills’ Brow Whiz and Clear Brow Gel! I’ve tried the ever popular Gimme Brow by Benefit in the past, too. However, since we’ve become a sin150227-BrowPost-ClearBrowGelgle income household, these high end products, while they’re amazing, they burn a whole in your budget quick! Benefit’s Gimme Brow is teeny tiny, and costs a whopping $22 and while the Brow Whiz by Anastasia Beverly Hills last longer (mine lasts on average 6 months with everyday use) it’s still a chunk of change at $21, plus the Clear Brow Gel at $22, they add up to $43.

So, I had been on the hunt lately for a drug store 150227-BrowPost-BrowMascaraand more budget friendly option. I was excited to see an ad for L’Oreal’s Brow Stylist Plumper Brow Gel Mascara as I was clipping coupons. On my next errand run I made sure to check it out and my jaw dropped when I saw the price: $8.99! My wallet breathed a sigh of relief and when I tried it at home, I was converted! The wand is the length of a mascara wand which offered much more control. I was able to have a lighter touch and not have to clean up or redo my brows, like I almost always ended up having to do with Benefit’s Gimme Brow’s short wand. The L’Oreal gel has fibers to help fill in your brows, a slight tint, and held my brows in place all day! Since I’ve had this in my makeup drawer, I noticed I’ve been grabbing this instead of my Benefit Gimme Brow or Anastasia Beverly Hills Clear Brow Gel. I like using this gel, because if I’m just having a light and easy makeup day, I can just use this gel and still have brows that look neat and filled in.

150227-BrowPost-NyxFor days when I’m wanting fuller more defined brows or doing a more glammed up makeup look, I use both a brow pencil and brow gel. I still have a special place in my heart for Anastasia Beverly Hills’ Brow Whiz, but I just recently found a drugstore alternative with the same concept. Most brow pencils have to be sharpened and don’t come with a little handy spooly which is why I fell in love with the Brow Whiz in the first place. Nyx finally came out with a twist up pencil (no need to sharpen) and a spooly combo brow pencil! Priced at $9.99, it’s a perfect dupe for the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Whiz. I can’t tell you how I excited I got when I found the Nyx Micro Brow Pencil! I absolutely love it!

So altogether, my brow budget has gone from $65 (when you add all the high end brow products I was using…OUCH!) to $18.98! These drugstore products are easier to find, cost less, and give you the same great results. I highly recommend them!

What are your favorite brow products?
What kind of beauty products would you like to read about next?

Leave a Reply

