Monthly Recap – February

I don’t know about you, but for being a short month, February felt incredibly long to me. I’m glad to be in March, finally! But February wasn’t miserable or a horrible month at all, it was just full. By the way, I’m linking up with The Lady Okie again this month, check out her Project 12 posts!

30 for 30 Progress: Like I mentioned in my January Recap, there are a few items on my 30 for 30 List that I will be doing year round. You can see all my sketches on my Instagram. I had a mini love theme during February!
We made some progress on #11 (Paint remaining rooms in house) on my list. We painted our bonus room! You can check out that post, here.
I’ve also made some progress on #1 (Get healthy!) but you can read more about that below in the Fitness section.

Books Read: I started reading 3 books this month. Unfortunately, I didn’t finish any of them yet, but I’m enjoying reading them. This month took over my time and I’m really going to have to be intentional to carve out time to read more in March! I need to hurry, I’m getting behind. 😦

Fitness: So this month, I started my fitness goals! You can read my plan in my February is for Fitness postPurseGoal. As of now, I’ve already lost 4 pounds! I feel a lot better, I feel like I have more energy, my skin has cleared up, I have fewer headaches, and I’m already noticing a few areas starting to slim down. I see it, but it’s not drastically noticeable…yet! 😉 It was pretty rough the first three weeks, to be honest. I didn’t realize just how much I was used to eating in a day. I still hate counting calories, but I’m beginning to enjoy working out. The only thing that annoys me is how much time working out requires from my day. But I’m pressing on. I’m hoping to make more progress in March!

Travel: This month I went to Duncan, Oklahoma to visit family! We made it a girl’s trip and we had a lot of fun. I went down with my Granny and my Mom to visit my mother-in-law and my husband’s grandmother. We enjoyed eating lunch at Cracker Barrel on the way down and had some great conversations during the long drive! It was so encouraging and fun catching up with family and hearing our grandmothers share about how God has lead and taught them in life. I am so blessed to have such godly women in my family to look up to and learn from. My husband’s family is such a blessing, I never expected to love my in laws as much I do. They feel like family I’ve had all my life and an extension of my immediate family. I’m looking forward to when we can make another trip down to visit!

Watched: I watched the Oscars this year! 150222-Oscars3Pepper and I had our own little Oscar party at home, while I was working on various home projects. Overall, I wasn’t too amazed or surprised by anything and there were a few moments that I could have done without, honestly. I always love looking at the beautiful dresses and gowns the ladies wear and the award title designs (the stylized animation or graphic displayed to represent the movie when they’re listing off the nominees) were really well done this year! But my absolute FAVORITE moment was when Lady Gaga sang a medley from The Sound of Music. I grew up on The Sound of Music and watched it over and over and over as a kid. I adore that movie! And the icing on the cake was to see the lovely Julie Andrews join Lady Gaga on stage after her performance and present the next award. I wanted to rewind and watch that whole segment over again. It was so good!

Listened: I’ve been listening to various podcasts when I walk Pepper and that helps the time go by a little quicker. Other than that, I’ve not really listened to anything new this month.

Family Moments: Since it was Valentine season this month, I decided to do something a little different. I gave Jonathan a little surprise Valentine of his favorite treats with a little note on the days leading up to Valentine’s Day.

The first few days, he seemed surprised, but then he started catching on that this was a daily thing and I had to find creative places to leave his treats. I learned my lesson on one spot though. I know now to not leave anything under his pillow. He must have too firm of a pillow, because I had to show him that there was an entire box of Cheez-Its under his head… But he enjoyed all the little notes and treats.

Jonathan gave me chocolate and half a dozen roses!

Jonathan gave me chocolate and half a dozen roses!

Since he had to work on Valentine’s Day, we ended up celebrating our Valentine’s Day date on his next day off, the following Monday. We had a few gift cards from Christmas and we used them to eat at Macaroni Grill. It was so fun and nice to get dressed up and go out on a date (for mostly free!). We came home, relaxed on the couch, and had fresh strawberries with chocolate and champagne we had left over from New Years. (We ended up having a few bottles left over from our New Year’s party, so now we have something nice to enjoy for a few special occasions throughout this year.) 🙂
Pepper had a big moment this month! Normally, when we run out for errands or to go somewhere, 2015-02-26 16.55.48we put her in her crate with some toys and treats. But we let her stay out in the living room for a few short errands and she did so well! We’ve been wanting to eventually get her to this point so she’s not cooped up the whole time. For the most part, she’s done pretty well this month, however there was one time I came home to find our couch with some stuffing ripped out. We’re realizing that she’s showing signs of separation anxiety, so we’re trying to work on that with her. I’m looking forward to her training sessions that will begin in March!

This Made My Day: I got my hair done this month! (I always forget to take a picture, arg!) For the last year, I’ve been sporting red hair and I love it! Even though I’m naturally a brunette, I feel more like myself with red hair. I absolutely love going to my stylist, Madi. Every time she does my hair, I leave the salon feeling amazing! My stylist is able to get the most beautiful red tones in my hair every time. She’s awesome! If you live in the OKC area and are looking for an great stylist, you should check her out here.

Monthly Moral: With starting my fitness plan, I’ve realized that I am a sprinter (figuratively speaking) and not a long distance or cross country person. In other words, I can jump on an idea or a project and give it all of my energy and interest up front, but when time goes on and you have to keep going, I loose steam. This is what happened around the third week into counting my calories and working out this month. When it gets hard and it has to become mind over matter for me. I’m realizing that I need to develop more patience and perseverance. 😉

I’m looking forward to seeing what happens this March!
How was your February?

3 thoughts on “Monthly Recap – February

  1. Wow! So many fun things 🙂 Congratulations on losing 4 pounds! I’m glad you’re feeling healthier. I love eating at Cracker Barrel while on a road trip. It brings back a lot of memories of traveling with my family. I hope you are having a great start to March already! I can’t believe it.

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh… “nacho your average valentine.” I LOVE it!! You had such creative ideas! And the weight loss is a huge deal for one month! I loved reading your recap and I wish you the best in becoming a marathoner instead of a sprinter… you can do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

