March Makeover – Week 1 Progress Recap!

Sorry for the late post, but today was bananas… Holy wow! One week down. This week was quick and full, but mostly full! It’s been amazing to see the progress this week. I’m really liking the idea of tackling the huge task of decluttering and organizing my house in bite size daily tasks. I’ve been posting a daily picture of my progress throughout the week on my Instagram. Feel free to follow me if you want to see daily updates. I’m using the hashtag #MarchMakeover15PO on all my posts, if you want to find them quickly. Here’s how this week went:

150301-MM-Day1-SpendingFreeze

3/1: Create a Spending Freeze plan for ourselves and define essentials // Purge magazines and catalogs
We discussed our spending needs for this month and wrote down what spending was allowed and what was necessary. It’s been a little bit of a challenge to remember that we’re not spending extra money this month since I like to shop here and there, but it’s also been nice in a way, because I don’t have to worry that we might be spending too much money. I’ve also been staying too busy to go shopping!
Purging my magazines was an eye opening day for me. I didn’t realize that I’ve had 357 magazines stacked around my house for the last few years… I paired down my stacks to only reference magazines (I’m a graphic designer and kept the design magazines that had good articles, inspiration, and tutorials) and the ones I’d like to read from the last six months. But, I threw away 188 POUNDS of magazines and catalogs!

150301-MM-Day1

3/2: Organize pantry and begin brainstorming meals // Purge pantry
I was pleasantly surprised that we threw away less expired food than I thought we would. We’ve actually been eating up what we buy pretty well without having too much left over to expire. But at least now everything is organized, we can find what we’re looking for easily and we know what we have on hand for meals.

150302-MM-Day2

3/3: Begin meal planning based on food in stock // Purge fridge
This task was similar to the pantry. We hardly threw out any food thankfully! It was nice to take the time to deep clean our fridge and put everything back in a more organized way. I didn’t break down a meal plan for the whole month, but just for this week. I know that I will need to make a grocery trip next week, so I’m going to finish the meal planning after our groceries are restocked.

150303-MM-Day3

150304-MM-Day4b3/4: Eat “out” at home by creating a favorite restaurant style meal at home // Purge freezer
Just like the pantry and fridge, our freezer was in great shape too! Yay! We ate “out” at home this week and I recreated a delicious pizza that we had while visiting family last year in Denver. When we were in Denver, we found this nice pizzeria that makes coal-fire pizzas. It was a gorgeous day with beautiful weather and every time I make this pizza, I remember going to Colorado and enjoying the relaxing weather! I don’t remember the name of the pizza we ordered from Marco’s Coal-Fire Pizzeria, but I call it Pesto Pizza… Here’s my recipe:

Pesto Pizza
1 can of Pilsbury pizza dough
1/4 cup of pre-made pesto sauce (depending on how much you like pesto, you really just need enough to cover the crust)
1 cup of shredded mozzarella (or fresh mozzarella works too)
3-4 cloves of garlic
1 tsp of Italian seasoning
Crushed black pepper to taste
2 Tbsp of Pine nuts (I used slivered almonds, since I didn’t have pine nuts)
1/2-1 cup of grilled chicken strips or cubes (I used pre-cooked frozen grilled chicken)
8-10 Roma or cherry tomatoes
Parmesan cheese

Spray pizza pan with cooking spray and roll out dough. Follow the cooking instructions on the can of dough.
While dough is pre-cooking, peel garlic cloves and chop them into thin slices.
Cut tomatoes into halves.
Once dough is pre-cooked, spread pesto sauce onto crust.
Sprinkle mozzarella cheese over sauce.
Add Italian seasoning, pepper, and chopped garlic over cheese.
Add chicken and finish cooking until the crust is slightly browned and the chicken is fully cooked.
When the pizza is done cooking, add fresh tomato slices and parmesan cheese to taste before serving.
Slice, serve, and enjoy! 🙂

150304-MM-Day4a

3/5: Purge dresser drawers
This project took a lot longer than I planned. Our drawers were so stuffed that we couldn’t close them easily, plus I would have to fish out socks that had fallen back behind the bottom drawers… But I went through everything and threw out a lot of stuff that was too old, falling apart, or too small and now everything fits in the dresser! We can close the drawers all the way and they’re not so full that stuff will fall down into the back and get lost. It feel so nice to open the drawer and see everything all folded and neat!

150305-MM-Day5

3/6: Organize home office // Purge crafting/office supplies
Realistically, I knew that organizing the home office was not going to be completed in one day. I’ve been working on our home office for the last two months, but it IS coming along and with the remaining office related tasks on this month’s makeover project, the office should be fully organized and functional by the end of this whole project! I was able to go through all of our office supplies and crafting supplies and get those wrangled into an orderly fashion. Plus, I discovered that I have somehow  ended up with three staplers… 🙂

150306-MM-Day6

3/7: Week 1 Progress Recap // Purge makeup
Ok! This one was rough. Today was just too busy and I just felt like I was running out of time all day to get this one done, so I didn’t do as well on this one that I thought I would. But, even though I had to keep stopping and starting on this project all day, I finished going through all my makeup and threw out a lot of old and expired makeup and got my makeup drawer organized. Let’s just say, I don’t need to buy foundation or eyeshadow for a while!
And now you’re reading this update! 🙂

150307-MM-Day7a

"You have HOW MUCH makeup, mom?"

“You have HOW MUCH makeup, mom?”

Here’s to Week 2 and to continued momentum!
How was your week? Do you have any spring cleaning or organizing tips or tricks?

Leave a Reply

