March Makeover – Week 2 Progress Recap!

Week 2 down and another busy week! I love how my house is shaping up and getting more organized. If you follow my Instagram, you’ve already seen everything that got done with week, but let’s break it down:

3/8: Create a spring cleaning plan // Purge cleaning products
I wrote up a daily and weekly cleaning plan and have been trying to stick to it everyday. So far, I’ve been able to do the weekly plan, but the daily tasks are a challenge to build into a habit right now. I’ll still keep working on it. Ideally, if I can do the daily and weekly tasks, my house should stay clean and I’ll be able to work in spring cleaning all year round. By the way, since it’s not pictured, the daily tasks I wrote up are: wash dishes, wipe down counters, tidy rooms, make bed, and sort/file mail.
I went through all of our cleaning products and I shouldn’t have to buy any cleaning supplies for about 4-6 months! Seriously, I have plenty of Windex! I was able to get it all wrangled despite a 4.0 earthquake coming through in the middle of my organizing. No joke! Oklahoma’s got it all, we have been having earthquakes for the last few years. Pepper is still getting used to the rumbling, so when it came through, we both jolted and she jumped in my lap and would not move for a while…

150308-MM-Day8a

3/9: Spring cleaning day // Purge shoes
I started implementing the cleaning day, since it should keep our house spring cleaned year round with daily application.
Since it was my hubby’s day off, we both went through our shoes. His shoe purge was much faster than mine…He only had one pair of shoes he didn’t want or war anymore. 😉 I was able to go through all my shoes and together, hubby and I were able to donate 13 pairs of shoes. I now have my shoes fitting all neatly in my shoe rack and not all piled up. Now I’ll just need to restrain myself from buying new shoes. I love shoes!

150309-MM-Day9

3/10: Clean and organize bonus rooms (we don’t currently have kids,
so we have bonus rooms) // Purge/clean out cars
Thankfully our bonus rooms were already pretty organized and cleaned up. We organized our dining/bonus room when we painted it. Hubby’s man cave is his space, so I decided to leave it alone. He has his all of his stuff in his room where he can find it and the way he likes it.
So I focused my energy on my car! I wish I had been able to take it through a car wash too, but I decided since we were on a spending freeze, I’d wait for rain to come later in the forecast. I cleaned out all the extra stuff and trash in my car. Now my glove boxes are actually helpful instead of a scary place to open up and try to find something. I vacuumed the carpets, wiped down everything, and even broke out the glass cleaner to clean off Pepper’s window art in the back seat. 😉 It feels like a new car!

150310-MM-Day10

3/11: Organize master bedroom closets // Purge master closets
It was still our weekend with hubby being off work, so we went through both of our master closets. He started on his closet before I did, so I missed the “before” picture. But, between the two of us, we were able to clear out a good sized stack of clothes to donate. I mentioned my hanger method on Instagram. Basically, I hang all of my clothes on hangers backwards at the beginning of a season or after a big clear out. As I wear clothes throughout the season, I hang up the clothes on hanger facing the normal way. Then, after a few months when I’m ready to go through my clothes again, I can tell what I’ve wore and what I haven’t. This makes it easy to decide what I need to maybe toss out or if I should try it on to see if still fits, etc.

150311-MM-Day11

3/12: Organize bathrooms // Purge bathroom cabinets
We have two bathrooms in our house, but the master bathroom cabinets took the longest. In our guest bathroom, we use the cabinet mostly for storage, so it was pretty easy. I went through our master bathroom and went through all of our products and got them organized. I still have plenty of hair products even after throwing out old half empty ones that needed to go. I’m realizing that I have a beauty product buying problem. I have plenty to go through and will need to learn to use up what I have before buying more. Wish me luck, it’s going to be hard! …Maybe I need to put myself on a beauty spending freeze in the future?

150312-MM-Day12

3/13: Purge medicine cabinets
This task was pretty simple, since a while back, I had already purchased some little office organizing drawers to keep medications and first aid supplies in. I mostly went through all of our medicines and tossed the expired ones. I put like things together and got everything back in the cabinet in an orderly fashion. Now we can find what we need when someone’s under the weather!

150313-MM-Day13

3/14: Week 2 Progress Recap // Purge books
Tada! Week two is now done! Today, I purged our books, which was not as hard as I thought it would be, but I still had to resist the urge to begin cataloging all of our books and creating my own version of a Dewey decimal system… I love our books and I feel like when you get rid of a book, you get rid of a friend sometimes. But decided to I step back and try to think with each book I picked up, a) Have I read this and was it good? b) Would I read it again or do I want to read it? Is it useful for future reference? c) I don’t want to read this and I don’t see a future use for it… That kind of thinking helped pull things into perspective a little better. After going through all of our books, I put them into general categories. Now, we have two boxes full of books we can give away!

150314-MM-Day14

So this week was a success, thankfully! How did your week go?

One thought on “March Makeover – Week 2 Progress Recap!

Leave a Reply

